South Korea announces 3 ways to visit visa-free

The Republic of Korea has announced on Thursday three ways on how to visit the country visa-free.


The announcement was made through the websites of South Korea missions abroad.

According to the announcement, those eligible to visit Korea visa-free are (1) tourists in transit to third countries, (2) foreign transfer passengers; and (3) visitors to Jeju area.

1. Tourists in transit to third countries

Tourists transiting through Korea will be granted visa-free access to the country as long as they have confirmed onward flight ticket for departure within the next 30 days, in addition to having no record of criminal offence.
Eligible nationals for this category are nationalities of all countries except these 24 countries: Syria, Sudan, Iran, Macedonia, Cuba, Republic Of Kosovo, Palestine, Afghanistan, Iraq, Nigeria, Ghana, Yemen, Gambia, Senegal, Bangladesh, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Somalia, Uzbekistan, Nepal, Cameron, Sri Lanka, Myanmar and Egypt.

United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand visa holders are also eligible in the first category


2. Foreign transfer passengers

For the foreign transfer passengers, eligible tourists are those transferring through the Incheon Airport and taking part in a Transit Tourism Program on their way to a third country or the country of their nationality.

Citizens of the 24 countries that are excluded in category one are not included.

3. Visitors to Jeju area

The third category are for people arriving at ports of entry in Jeju without a visa for travel and transit. Jeju is a city in South Korea and it’s airport Jeju International Airport, is the 2nd largest airport in South Korea, just behind Incheon Airport in Incheon.

Nationals excluded from this category are travelers from the following countries whose visa free entry is limited: Ghana, Nigeria, Republic Of Kosovo, Macedonia, Sudan, Syria, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Cuba, Palestine, Yemen , Egypt, Gambia, Senegal, Bangladesh, Kyrgyz, Pakistan, Somalia, Uzbekistan, Nepal, Cameroon, Sri lanka and Myanmar.

Previous Post
U.S adds Poland to its Visa Waiver Program
Next Post
Augrabies Falls National Park – South Africa
Akesse Sanza

Akesse Sanza is a Ghanaian Travel Blogger, Travel and Tourism Consultant, and Anti-human Trafficking And Safe Migration advocate. Akesse loves everything Travel & Tourism and aims to see every single country in the world.

15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 300 0