HOLD ON: Ghanaian passport holders not traveling to 6 new countries visa-free


Ghanaian travel lovers are already celebrating news that Ghana Parliament has received from the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration a Waiver of Visa Requirement Agreements to six foreign countries.

The countries; Colombia, Iran, Hungary, India, Equatorial Guinea and Morocco, are reported to have signed bilateral visa waiver agreements with Ghana for holders of Diplomatic, Service and Ordinary Passport.

Though this information is available on the Parliament of Ghana website, can confidently report that it’s not entirely true or someone is just having fun on the website.

The news item mentioning Hungary as signing a visa-waiver agreement for ordinary passport holders questions the authenticity of the report. Hungary is a member of the Schengen States and cannot independently enter into a bilateral visa agreement for ordinary passport holders as that would mean signing on behalf of all the member states of the Schengen area.


The report also mentioning South Africa as a visa-free destination for holders of ordinary Ghanaian passport also casts doubts of its authenticity as Ghanaians still require visas to visit South Africa. will update readers as and when further details are available.


The Foreign Affairs Ministry has released a Press Statement to confirm Jetsanza’s report tha ordinary passports are not included in the visa-free agreements Ghana signed with 6 countries. Read the statement below:

Statement by the MFA

Statement by the MFA

Previous Post
Homechow App hits the airwaves with its new ad campaign
Next Post
Israeli embassies and consulates shut down; diplomats on strike
Akesse Sanza

Akesse Sanza is a Ghanaian Travel Blogger, Travel and Tourism Consultant, and Anti-human Trafficking And Safe Migration advocate. Akesse loves everything Travel & Tourism and aims to see every single country in the world.

15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 300 0