Visa Free Countries For Australian Passport Holders


Visa-Free Countries For Australian Citizens

Nationals of Australia can visit a good number of countries without a visa. Most of the countries that require visas grant Australians either eVisa or Visa On Arrival (VOA).

Advertisement has put together a list of Australian travel requirements.

Oceania Countries That Are Visa-Free For Australians

Fiji 4 months
Kiribati 120 days
Marshall Islands VOA 90 days
Micronesia 30 days
New Zealand* *
Palau VOA 30 days
Papua New Guinea eVisa/Free VOA at Gurney Airport (Alotau) Mount Hagen Airport
Samoa entry Permit on Arrival 60 days
Solomon Islands Visitor’s Permit on Arrival 3 months
Tonga VOA 31 days
Tuvalu VOA 1 month
Vanuatu 30 days

*freedom of movement. Australian citizens are exempt from the requirement to hold a permit on arrival in New Zealand and may reside or work for an indefinite period as long as they: 1. present a valid Australian passport OR hold a foreign passport with evidence of their Australian citizenship. 2. have no criminal convictions

Asia Countries That Are Visa-Free For Australians

Armenia 180 days
Azerbaijan eVisa 30 days
Bahrain eVisa/VOA 14 days
Bangladesh VOA not available at all entry points 30 days
Brunei VOA 30 days
Cambodia eVisa/VOA 30 days
East Timor* * 30 days
Georgia 360 days
Indonesia 30 days
Iran VOA 30 days
Israel 3 months
Japan 90 days
Jordan VOA not available at all entry points 2 months
Kazakhstan 30 days
Kuwait eVisa/VOA 3 months
Kyrgyzstan 60 days
Laos** ** Lantui
Lebanon VOA 1 month
Malaysia 3 months
Maldives VOA 30 days
Nepal VOA 90 days
Philippines 30 days
Qatar 30 days
Singapore 90 days
South Korea 90 days
Sri Lanka eVisa/VOA 30 days
Tajikistan eVisa/ VOA at Dushanbe International Airport 30 days
Thailand 30 days
United Arab Emirates VOA 30 days
Uzbekistan 30 days

*VOA at Presidente Nicolau Lobato International Airport or the Dili Sea Port.

**eVisa can enter through Wattay International Airport and the First Thai–Lao Friendship Bridge Entry points Lalai.


Africa Countries That Are Visa-Free For Australians

Benin eVisa/VOA 30/8 days
Botswana 90 days within a year period
Burkina Faso VOA 1 month
Cape Verde VOA at Sal Boa Vista
Comoros VOA 45 days
Egypt eVisa/VOA 30 days
Eswatini / Swaziland 30 days
Ethiopia eVisa/ VOA must both arrive at Addis Ababa Bole International Airport 30 or 90 days
Gabon eVisa holders must arrive at Libreville International Airport or VOA 90 days
Gambia 90 days
Guinea-Bissau eVisa/VOA up to 90 days
Kenya eVisa/VOA up to 3 months
Lesotho 14 days
Madagascar eVisa/VOA up to 90 days
Malawi VOA 30 days
Mauritania VOA at Nouakchott–Oumtounsy International Airport 90 days
Mauritius 90 days
Morocco 3 months
Mozambique VOA but must have a return or onward ticket 30 days
Namibia 3 months
Rwanda eVisa/VOA 30 days
Senegal VOA 90 days
Seychelles Visitor’s Permit on Arrival 3 months
Somalia VOA 30 days
South Africa 90 days
Tanzania eVisa/VOA up to 3 months
Togo VOA 7 days
Tunisia 3 months
Uganda eVisa/VOA up to 3 months
Zambia eVisa/VOA 90 days
Zimbabwe eVisa/VOA 3 months

Europe – Schengen Areas With Bilateral Agreements With Australia

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Denmark
  4. Finland
  5. France
  6. Germany
  7. Iceland
  8. Italy
  9. Luxembourg
  10. Netherlands
  11. Norway
  12. Spain
  13. Sweden
  14. Czech Republic
  15. Estonia
  16. Greece
  17. Hungary
  18. Latvia
  19. Liechtenstein
  20. Lithuania
  21. Malta
  22. Poland
  23. Portugal
  24. Slovakia
  25. Slovenia
  26. Switzerland
  27. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  28. Bulgaria
  29. Croatia
  30. Cyprus
  31. Moldova
  32. Montenegro
  33. Monaco
  34. North Macedonia
  35. Romania
  36. Serbia
  37. Ukraine


Other Countries In Europe Where Australian Passport Holders Can Enter Without A Visa

Albania 90 days
Andorra 3 months
Belarus 30 days must arrive and leave via Minsk International Airport
Ireland 3 months
San Marino 90 days
United Kingdom 6 months
Vatican City 90 days

North America Countries That Are Visa-Free For Australians

Antigua and Barbuda 1 month
Bahamas 3 months
Barbados 6 months
Belize 30 days
Canada 6 months eTA required if arriving by air
Costa Rica 90 days
Cuba Tourist Card required 30 days
Dominica 6 months
Dominican Republic 90 days
El Salvador 3 months
Grenada 3 months
Guatemala 90 days
Haiti 3 months
Honduras 3 months
Jamaica 180 days
Mexico 180 days
Nicaragua 90 days
Panama 180 days
Saint Kitts and Nevis 3 months
Saint Lucia 6 weeks
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 1 month
Trinidad and Tobago 30 days
United States 90 days ESTA required if arriving by air or cruise

South America Countries That Are Visa-Free For Australians

Argentina 90 days
Bolivia 90 days
Brazil 90 days
Chile 90 days
Colombia 90 days extendable up to 180 days
Ecuador 90 days
Guyana 3 months
Paraguay VOA at Silvio Pettirossi International Airport 90 days
Peru 183 days
Suriname eVisa/Tourist Card on Arrival 90 days
Uruguay 3 months
Venezuela* 90 days *

*Australian government advises citizens not to visit here due to safety concerns

EVisa For Australian Passport Holders

Angola 30 days
Azerbaijan 30 days
Djibouti 31 days
India 60 days arrive via 26 designated airports or 3 designated seaports
Ivory Coast 3 months arrive via Port Bouet Airport
Myanmar 28 days arrive via Yangon
Oman 30 days
Pakistan 30 days
São Tomé and Príncipe 30 days
Suriname 90 days
Turkey 3 months
Ukraine 30 days
Vietnam 30 days

What Countries Can Australian Citizens Live In

  • New Zealand: New Zealand the second home of Australians. Australians can literally do everything in New Zealand without the need to obtain a visa.
  • Canada: Australians are eligible to apply for Canada’s International Experience Canada (IEC) work permit.
  • United Kingdom: UK’s Youth Mobility scheme Tier 5 visa is another option if you are 18-30 years.
  • Others: Australians can also live and work in any country in the world provided the right work permit is obtained.

Which Countries Can Australian Citizens Work?

Australian citizens can work in any country in the world after obtaining the appropriate work permit in the exception of New Zealand where such permit is not needed.

Visa Requirements For Australian Citizens To USA

The United States Visa Waiver Program (VWP) allows nationals of Australia to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa, if certain requirements are met.

Australians have to obtain an Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) before embarking on their trip.

Previous Post
Mauritius COVID-19 Entry Requirements
Next Post
COVID-19 Entry Requirements Japan
Akesse Sanza

Akesse Sanza is a Ghanaian Travel Blogger, Travel and Tourism Consultant, and Anti-human Trafficking And Safe Migration advocate. Akesse loves everything Travel & Tourism and aims to see every single country in the world.


Leave a Reply

15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 300 0