Akesse Sanza at Brussels Airport

ETIAS: A Guide to the European Travel Information and Authorization System

The rules of travel to Europe are undergoing a significant change, starting in 2024. Over 1.4 billion people from more than 60 visa-exempt countries will now be required to have a travel authorization known as ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) before entering most European countries. If you’re planning to visit any of the 30 European countries covered by ETIAS, read on to understand what ETIAS is, how to apply for it, and the required documents.


What is ETIAS?

ETIAS is a travel authorization introduced by the European Union for nationals of visa-exempt countries. It is a mandatory entry requirement for those planning to travel to European countries participating in the ETIAS system. The authorization is linked to the traveler’s passport and is valid for up to three years or until the passport’s expiration date, whichever comes first. If you acquire a new passport, you’ll need to apply for a new ETIAS travel authorization.

With a valid ETIAS travel authorization, you can enter the territory of participating European countries as often as you want for short-term stays, typically for up to 90 days within any 180-day period. However, it is crucial to note that possessing an ETIAS does not guarantee entry. Upon arrival, a border guard will verify your passport and other documents to ensure you meet the entry conditions.

How to Apply for ETIAS Authorization

Applying for an ETIAS travel authorization is a straightforward process. You can either fill out the application form on the official ETIAS website or use the ETIAS mobile application. The application fee for ETIAS is EUR 7, but certain travelers may be exempt from paying this fee. The processing time for most applications is just a few minutes.

In some cases, the application might take longer to process. If this happens, you will receive a decision within four days. However, the processing period may be extended up to 14 days if you are asked to provide additional information or documentation, or even up to 30 days if you are invited to an interview. To avoid any last-minute complications, it is advisable to apply for your ETIAS travel authorization well in advance of your intended journey.

Documents Needed to Apply for ETIAS

When filling out the application, you’ll need the following documents and information:

  1. Travel Document: Ensure you have a valid travel document to which a visa may be affixed. The document should not expire in less than three months and should not be older than 10 years. Travel documents that don’t meet international standards may be rejected during the application process and could pose problems during boarding.
  2. Personal Information: Provide your name(s), surname, date and place of birth, nationality, home address, parents’ first names, email address, and phone number.
  3. Travel Details: Include information about your intended travel and stay in any of the European countries requiring ETIAS.
  4. Occupation and Education: Provide details about your level of education and current occupation.
  5. Criminal Convictions and Previous Travel History: Disclose any criminal convictions, past travels to war or conflict zones, and whether you have recently been asked to leave any country.

If someone is submitting the application on your behalf, they will need to provide their details and information on their relationship with you. Applications for minors (under 18 years of age) must be submitted by a person exercising parental authority or legal guardianship.


Once you’ve successfully applied, you’ll receive an email confirming your application submission, along with your unique ETIAS application number for future reference. Later, you’ll receive another email informing you of the outcome of your application.

Validity Period of ETIAS

ETIAS travel authorizations are valid for three years or until the expiration of the travel document used in the application, whichever comes first. It is essential to remember that the authorization is for short-term stays, allowing you to stay in the European countries requiring ETIAS for up to 90 days within any 180-day period.

On Arrival at the Border

Upon arrival, ensure you carry the same travel document used in your ETIAS application, as the authorization is linked to that specific document. If you fail to do so, you may be denied boarding or entry into any of the European countries requiring ETIAS.

Having a valid ETIAS travel authorization does not guarantee automatic entry. Border guards will verify that you meet the entry conditions. Travelers who do not meet these conditions will be refused entry.

European Countries Requiring ETIAS

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Croatia
  5. Cyprus
  6. Czech Republic
  7. Denmark
  8. Estonia
  9. Finland
  10. France
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. Hungary
  14. Iceland
  15. Italy
  16. Latvia
  17. Liechtenstein
  18. Lithuania
  19. Luxembourg
  20. Malta
  21. Netherlands
  22. Norway
  23. Poland
  24. Portugal
  25. Romania
  26. Slovakia
  27. Slovenia
  28. Spain
  29. Sweden
  30. Switzerland

Countries Requiring ETIAS Travel Authorization

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Albania
  3. Argentina
  4. Australia
  5. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  6. Barbados
  7. Brunei
  8. Brazil
  9. Bahamas
  10. Canada
  11. Chile
  12. Colombia
  13. Costa Rica
  14. Dominica
  15. El Salvador
  16. Grenada
  17. Georgia
  18. Guatemala
  19. Honduras
  20. Hong Kong
  21. Israel
  22. Japan
  23. Kiribati
  24. Macao
  25. Malaysia
  26. Marshall Islands
  27. Mauritius
  28. Mexico
  29. Micronesia
  30. Moldova
  31. Montenegro
  32. New Zealand
  33. Nicaragua
  34. North Macedonia
  35. Palau
  36. Panama
  37. Paraguay
  38. Peru
  39. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  40. Saint Lucia
  41. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  42. Samoa
  43. Serbia
  44. Seychelles
  45. Singapore
  46. Solomon Islands
  47. South Korea
  48. Taiwan
  49. Timor-Leste
  50. Tonga
  51. Trinidad and Tobago
  52. Tuvalu
  53. Ukraine
  54. United Arab Emirates
  55. United Kingdom
  56. United States
  57. Uruguay
  58. Venezuela

ETIAS has become an essential part of travel for nationals of visa-exempt countries planning to visit Europe. By understanding the application process and having the necessary documents ready, you can ensure a smooth and hassle-free journey to any of the 30 European countries covered by the ETIAS system. Make sure to apply well in advance and double-check all the details to enjoy your European adventures with ease and convenience.

About The Author: Akesse Sanza

Akesse Sanza is a passionate travel writer and owns With a deep love for exploring new destinations and sharing insightful travel tips, Akesse Sanza brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to readers. Akesse inspires readers to embark on their own journeys and discover the wonders of the world. Follow Akesse’s adventures and travel insights on

Previous Post
Ghanaian and Nigerian Passports Ranked: Which Country Has The Strongest Passport?
Akesse Sanza

Akesse Sanza is a Ghanaian Travel Blogger, Travel and Tourism Consultant, and Anti-human Trafficking And Safe Migration advocate. Akesse loves everything Travel & Tourism and aims to see every single country in the world.

15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 300 0