COVID-19 Entry Requirements For Canary Islands



Due to the lingering COVID-19 pandemic, the Canary Islands best known for their black- and white-sand beaches have set in place some precautionary measures to limit the spread of the virus.

Coronavirus and travel concept. Passports, airplane tickets, sanitizer, thermometer and medical mask flat lay. Border control and quarantine of tourists infected with coronavirus. Flight cancellation coronavirus pandemic. Coronavirus Covid-19

Is the Canary Islands Open For Tourists?

The Canary Islands is currently not open for tourism purposes.

Canary Islands COVID travel restrictions

Effective 26 March 2021 until 25 May 2021, a temporary restriction applies to flights (direct or with intermediate stops) from any airport located in Brazil/South Africa to any airport in the Kingdom of Spain.

  • Only Spanish/Andorran nationals and foreign nationals with legal residence in Spain/Andorra are allowed to enter the country, as well as passengers in transit with final destination in a Non‑Schengen country with a stopover of fewer than 24 hours, without leaving the transit zone of the Spanish airport.
  • COVID‑19 PCR testing is required for travellers from all non-EU/EEC countries except Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, China, Hong Kong and Macau. This does not apply to children below 6 years old.
  • All passengers who come from a risk country/area in relation to the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus must present, in order to enter Spain, a certificate with a NEGATIVE PCR result (COVID-19 RT-PCR), carried out in the 72 hours before arrival in Spain.
  • You must not travel if you have recent-onset of COVID-19 compatible symptoms (fever, cough, shortness of breath), if you have been diagnosed with COVID-19 in the last 14 days, or if you have had close contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19 in the last two weeks.
  • Passengers who have recently contracted COVID‑19 will be allowed to travel if they can provide a medical report stating they have contracted and since been cured of COVID‑19, although a positive result persists.

International passengers must complete the Health Control Form (FCS) online ( on the SPTH APP (available on Google Play and the App Store). A QR code generated from the completed form must be presented to authorities on arrival.


Quarantine restrictions in the Canary Islands

  • By signing the Health Control Form (FCS), passengers are committing to self‑isolate at home or a place of residence during the 10 days after entry to Spain if they present symptoms of acute respiratory infection (fever, cough or respiratory difficulty), to self‑monitor coronavirus symptoms, and to phone the competent health authorities.
  • Only passengers are allowed to access the airport terminals. It is mandatory to wear face masks at every point of your journey.

Which countries are banned from entering the Canary Islands?

Passengers will not be allowed to enter Spain except if they are:

  • Spanish Nationals, travelling with their spouse and children
  • European Union nationals and nationals from Andorra, United Kingdom, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland and the Vatican whose primary residence is in Spain or are in transit through Spain to reach their country of origin or of primary residence, travelling with their spouse and children.
  • Third-country nationals who are holders of a Spanish or an EU Residence Permit, or a valid long-stay visa, with primary residence in Spain or in transit through Spain to their country of residence. (Proof must be presented)
  • Third-country nationals in transit for less than 24 hours to an international destination staying in the international zone of the airport.

Travel to Spain is restricted to specific categories of passengers until 31 May 2021.

  • Nationals and residents of the following countries are allowed entry to Spain, provided that they are arriving on a direct flight from or transiting through any of these countries, or transiting through only the international area of any other airport not within the list: Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, China, Hong Kong and Macau.
Previous Post
COVID-19 Entry Requirements – Hong Kong
Next Post
COVID-19: UAE Travel Restrictions Update
Akesse Sanza

Akesse Sanza is a Ghanaian Travel Blogger, Travel and Tourism Consultant, and Anti-human Trafficking And Safe Migration advocate. Akesse loves everything Travel & Tourism and aims to see every single country in the world.


Leave a Reply

15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 300 0