What are the 5 EU countries not in Schengen? How many countries are not in Schengen?

Europe, a continent known for its diverse cultures, stunning landscapes, and rich history, has always been a sought-after destination for travelers worldwide. One of the essential factors that simplify travel within Europe is the Schengen Zone, allowing seamless movement across multiple countries. However, did you know that not all European Union (EU) member countries are part of the Schengen Area? In this blog post, we’ll shed light on the four EU countries that are not part of the Schengen Zone, as well as the total number of countries outside the agreement.


The Schengen Zone Recap:

Before delving into the specifics, let’s have a quick recap of what the Schengen Zone is all about. The Schengen Area is a borderless region comprising 27 European countries that have mutually agreed to eliminate internal borders, allowing unrestricted travel within the zone. With a single Schengen visa, travelers can explore numerous countries without the need for additional checks at each border.

Four EU Countries Not in Schengen:

The following four EU member countries are not part of the Schengen Area:

  1. Bulgaria: Located in southeastern Europe, Bulgaria is known for its diverse landscapes, ancient history, and vibrant culture.
  2. Cyprus: Situated in the eastern Mediterranean, Cyprus entices travelers with its pristine beaches, ancient ruins, and warm hospitality.
  3. Romania: With its picturesque castles, rugged Carpathian Mountains, and diverse wildlife, Romania offers a blend of natural and historical wonders.
  4. Ireland: Famous for its lush green landscapes, friendly locals, and fascinating folklore, Ireland’s charm captivates visitors from around the globe.

It’s important to note that this information is based on the knowledge available up until September 2021. Changes or developments beyond that date may have occurred, so we recommend checking the latest updates to ensure accuracy.


How Many Countries Are Not in Schengen?

The total number of countries that are not part of the Schengen Area stands at four. These include the aforementioned four EU countries (Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania) and one non-EU country, namely:

  • The United Kingdom: Comprising four nations – England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, the United Kingdom is not a Schengen member despite being part of the European Union.

As you plan your European escapades, understanding the Schengen Area’s dynamics is crucial. While 27 EU countries have come together to create a seamless travel experience within the Schengen Zone, four EU countries, including Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania, along with the non-EU nation of the United Kingdom, remain outside the agreement.

Keep in mind that travel regulations and international agreements can change, so it’s always wise to verify the latest information before setting off on your European adventure. Until next time, happy travels, and may your explorations across the continent be filled with unforgettable experiences and cherished memories!

About The Author: Akesse Sanza

Akesse Sanza is a passionate travel writer and owns With a deep love for exploring new destinations and sharing insightful travel tips, Akesse Sanza brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to readers. Akesse inspires readers to embark on their own journeys and discover the wonders of the world. Follow Akesse’s adventures and travel insights on

15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 300 0