Schengen Zone: What is Schengen Zone countries?

Welcome to, your go-to source for all things travel-related! Today, we’re diving into the fascinating world of the Schengen Zone – a remarkable creation that has revolutionized travel in Europe. If you’ve ever planned a trip to Europe, chances are you’ve come across the term “Schengen Zone” or “Schengen Area.” But what exactly is it, and what countries are part of this borderless wonderland? Join us as we unravel the secrets of the Schengen Zone and explore the countries that make up this traveler’s paradise.


Understanding the Schengen Zone:

The Schengen Zone, also known as the Schengen Area, is a remarkable agreement between European countries aimed at facilitating the movement of people across borders. It takes its name from the picturesque Luxembourgish village of Schengen, where the initial treaty was signed in 1985.

The core principle of the Schengen Agreement is the abolishment of internal borders between member countries, allowing travelers to move freely within the zone without the need for passport checks or visas at each border crossing. This seamless travel experience has made exploring Europe more convenient and enjoyable for millions of travelers worldwide.

Schengen Zone Countries:

As of January 2023, the Schengen Area comprises 27 member countries, and it continues to grow. The countries within the Schengen Zone are:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Malta
  18. Netherlands
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Spain
  25. Sweden
  26. Switzerland
  27. Croatia (Joined in January 2023)

It’s important to note that not all European countries are part of the Schengen Area. Some countries, like the United Kingdom and Ireland, have chosen not to participate in the agreement and maintain their own border controls.


Advantages of the Schengen Zone:

The Schengen Area offers a multitude of advantages for travelers and member countries alike:

  1. Seamless Travel: With no internal borders, travelers can move freely between member countries, making multi-destination trips more accessible and enjoyable.
  2. Single Visa: A Schengen visa allows travelers to explore multiple countries within the zone, streamlining the visa application process.
  3. Boost to Tourism: The ease of travel encourages tourism, benefiting local economies and fostering cultural exchange.
  4. Business and Trade: Businesses can operate more efficiently across borders, promoting economic growth and collaboration.

The Schengen Zone stands as a testament to the power of international cooperation and open borders. With 27 member countries and counting, this borderless wonderland offers travelers an opportunity to explore a rich tapestry of cultures, landscapes, and experiences without the hassle of border checks. Whether you’re an avid adventurer or a leisurely explorer, the Schengen Area beckons you to embark on a journey of a lifetime. So pack your bags, secure that Schengen visa, and get ready to explore the beauty and diversity of Europe like never before!

Happy travels from the team!

About The Author: Akesse Sanza

Akesse Sanza is a passionate travel writer and owns With a deep love for exploring new destinations and sharing insightful travel tips, Akesse Sanza brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to readers. Akesse inspires readers to embark on their own journeys and discover the wonders of the world. Follow Akesse’s adventures and travel insights on

15 49.0138 8.38624 1 0 4000 1 300 0